Jason Abbott Photography

Nashville Class

Posted by mrabbott on November 20, 2008

I mentioned that earlier this month I had attended a photography conference in Nashville, Tennessee.  This was a trip of a life time for me. I learned so very much, met such wonderful and talented people from all over North America…even Hawaii! Here is our class photo. I will post more from the conference a little later.

nashville-class-copy

While I was in Nashville I was lucky enough to be asked to participate in a “Shootout” with some really wonderful photographers. This was an unbelievable night! 6 photographers were challenged, and then together with professional retouchers worked their magic on the images they shot.

All the photographers were teamed up with a retouchers at random. I was blessed to have been paired with Shelley Harrington. You may remember her name from my class in Utah earlier this year.  The photographers were moved outside the main room and brought in one by one to shoot. We each had one large strobe, a desk lamp, a reflector for lighting and had to use a chaise as a prop. We had a great model to work (Shelley’s daughter) with and just 5 minutes to set up and shoot a perfect image. It was horribly frightening, exciting and educational all at the same time.

Here is out group picture from the event. The photo was taken by my friend and fellow photographer Tommy Cooper.

gang

Here is my and Shelley’s image..We actually tied for first overall with Steve (her husband) and Brian Little!

Here is our winning image:-) Thanks Shelley!!!!

teamjason

Here is Shelley working away!!!

shelley-at-work21

He is a shot of me during the shootout:-)

411084268_dtmnd-l

Leave a Reply

 
